It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new

friends.

We will have a lot of friends during our lives. Some of them are new to us, some turn to be old friends. In my opinion, it is more important to keep our old friends than it is to make new friends.

First, old friends are results of time, which means we have been through a lot of up and downs together, and built strong trust in each other. Whenever I get into trouble, I will choose to turn to my old friends instead of new ones. For example, I am quite outgoing and willing to make friends in an new environment. After graduation from university, I came to a new city and got a new job. Because of my easygoing personality, I made a lot of new friends there in a short period of time. Everything went well till my father had a car accident, and I needed a large amount of money for surgery at that time. I could not afford to pay the bill by myself and had to borrow some from my friends, and that was when I realized I could rely more on old friends than new ones. Because of lack of trust, none of my new friends lent me money. On the contrary, all my old friends helped me get through this difficulty. I don't want to blame it on my new friends, but I still want to say that it is a longtime relationship you can rely on.

Second, old friends have spent a long time with me, and they know me better than those new friends. Therefore, we could know what others want, no matter in workplace or at school. For example, once I invited my old and new friends to my birthday party. All of them knew I was keen on reading, so they all brought me some books as a gift. While my new friends prepared some comic books that are not my type, my old friends gave me books of my favorite author, Stephen King. This imperceptible detail really touched me, and let me knew that those old friends really know who you are and what you want. That's why I still remember this episode of my birthday party.

It's true that we will have to make new friends, because we seldom stay in one place for our whole lives, and new friends will make us more comfortable in a new environment. But it is old friends that could call back your memory and those wonderful time you spent together. For me, this is much more significant than just get to know someone new. Moreover, I think people only keen on making new friends will never get the chance to have old friends because they would not be willing to keep them in their lives.