It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

No one can deny the fact that friends make our lives better, easier and funnier. Friends are known to comfort you during trying times, to make you laugh during sad times, to party with you to celebrate an occassion and so much more. I believe that the quality of friendship does not depend on the amount of time they are in contact with you. In other words, no, I do not think that it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends due to the following reasons.

The first reason is that there is no guarantee that an old friend will be more helpful to you as compared to a new friend. All the qualities people look for in friends depend only on the type of person he or she is and not on the amount of time you have known each other. For instance, last month I was facing some financial difficulties due to a major loss in my startup and needed some help to get through the month. I could not ask for money from my parents since they have already done enough for me. So I asked one of my old friends from school to help me and he denied without a thought. Then I was surprised when someone, whom I don't even know that well, volunteered to help me. When I asked, he said that he trusts me and believes that I will return his money on time.

There has to be a connection and a feeling of trust between two people to remain friends. That trust does not depend on the age of the relationship. That trust can be made with ease and also, can be broken with ease. In other words, friendships might break if someone breaks the trust of another person even if they were childhood friends. All I am saying is that, age of the relationship is independent of the quality of friends you have.

For example, one of my childhood friends, Rahul, lied to me about something. Some years ago, I was going through a break-up and was extremely down hearted. I called Rahul to see if he could spend some time with me and have a little fun. But after talking to him, I found out that he was the reason for my break-up. He was jealous of me for being happy, so he created discrepencies between my girlfriend and I, and hence broke my trust. I could not forgive him for what he did. He broke my trust in an instant and along with that, broke the childhood friendhship too.

All I am saying is that, there is no ensuring that an old friend will stay with you forever and a new friend will not. People change, relationships change and this does not mean that we should not make new friends. Life is all about knowing new people and learning new things. So, in conclusion, making new friends is as important as keeping old friends.