TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task

Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

<font size="5">No doubt that</font> the grade is very important to reflect the student’s study ability. therefore, views differ considerably when it comes to the issue that whether the parent should offer their school-age children money for each high-grade they get in school. some people contend that since students get high score through their hardworking, they should receive some rewards which could motivate the student keep studying and get better grade next time, while others assert that if students receive the money from their parents, they may accustomed to study for making money, therefore, they may lose the interests in their study. Both opposite arguments are convincing and stand to reason. however, my experience and actual observation of life have led me to believe that it is not a good idea for parents to offer their school-age children money for each high-grade they get in school.

First of all, children may lose their enthusiastic to study, because parent will not give kids money for a high-grade anymore once they are grow old enough, as a result, students would not feel like to study since they would not receive any rewards. Take my friend tom as an example, when he was 8 years old, he always can get the highest score in the mathematic lesson, and his parent always give him some money to buy anything he likes, such as toys and fast foods, therefore my classmates and I dreamed to live such a comfortable and happy life just like tom did. however, such situation did not last long, when tom was 14 years old, his parents think it is not a good idea to continue offer tom money because tom is old enough to pay for himself. And this is the turn point of tom’s study, tom gradually hate to study, because it is not easy for he to get a good grade, while he can not get the money that he thought he is supposed to receive. Hence, tom hated to study and even skipped school to play radio games.

Furthermore, kids may misunderstand the meaning of study when them are given money for their wonderful performances, As a result, children would treat study just like a job that just for making money, once they hold such idea, it will not easy for them to have a deep understanding of the subject they learn. For instance.

To put it in a nutshell, based on aforementioned analysis, I believe that parents should not offer their school-age children money for each high-grade they get in school.