The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum by the business manager of the television station, he recommends that more time should be devoted to weather and local news, in order to attract more users and avoid losing advertising revenue. He recommendation is based on the complains received on the weather and local news and the forgone advertising contracts. While the recommendation made sounds concrete it is however rife with assumptions and flaws. In order for us to conclude on the validity of the argument made, we require evidence on the assumptions made by the author.

First of all, the author says that over the past year they have devoted incresed time to national news and less time to weather and local news. It can be implied from here that there was a change in the kind of news being brodcasted during the previous year. This change could be due to the lower views in the last to last year where they might have been dovoting more time to local and weather news than national news. It would not be wise to conclude that devoting more time to local and whether news will increse the views wihtout having the evidence of the viewer count before the previous year where more time was dedicated to national news.

Secondly, the authour uses the phrase 'most complaints received'. While this phrase tends to indicate a considerable numberb are received, without evidence we are not sure on the total number of complains received by the station. For instance, if the total complains reveived by the station are 5 and of which 3 are on local and weather news, then such phrase may seem to deceive the reades as 3 is not an conclusive number.

Further, the author claims that most of the complaints are received on the local and wether news. However, there is no evidence indicating that the complaints are on the quantity, or in other words, time devoted on such news and not on the quality of the content being telecasted. It is possible that the content being showed is faulty or poor quality and so the complaints reveived are on the same. Wihtout evidence this conclusion cannot be made

Later, the author also mentions that the they have lost the advertising conracts. Here he is making the assumption that the contracts are lost due to the less time deovted on local and weather news. There could be many reasons for the local businesses to cancel the contract, like their own financial needs. It is also possible that since it is late-night show, where the audience are low as compared to day time shows, the local businesses have cancelled the contracts. This might not be directly related to the content being casted and even on facilitating more time devoted on local and weather news, the contractors may not change their opion.

Therefore, while it seems quite obvious that increase in the time devoted on local and weather news would favor the author position, it is not plausable for us to conclude on the recommendation wihtout further evidence on the same. We need more information and statistices on the number of views and kind of news being telecasted before the previous year, the kind of complaints received and the nature of such grievances. We may also not conclude on the reason for the cessasion of the advertising contracts wihout evidence. Thus the given recommendation is severly flawed.