"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument provides a strategic suggestion for the television station that it should go back and restore their stipulated time for broadcasting weather and local news rather than continuing to broadcast national news due to complaints and cancellations in advertising ventures linked with the station. But, this argument is based on certain assumptions which need further evidence for a complete evaluation of this decision.

Firstly, there is an inherent assumption made that due to the complaints being raised about the weather and local news, there is suggested interest in the viewership of these news types. It may be that the complaints are due to the quality of news being portrayed. There might be some glaring errors in the weather news during a broadcast. Some complaints might also be due to fake news reported in the local area, and citizens of that neighborhood might have raised concerns regarding the same. If all this were true, going back to displaying weather and local news during the late-night news program, might further increase the resentment of these viewers. Therefore, until further evidence of the type and nature of the complaints are provided, taking a decision based on assumptions is not prudent.

Secondly, it is also assumed that there is a direct co-relation between the type of news shown (i.e. weather and local or national) and the reason for the withdrawal of advertising contracts with the television station. These contracts maybe might be cancelled for a completely different reason. The local businesses might not be content with the quality and time allotted for the advertisements. Also there might be external factors, that the television station might be caught up in some controversial engagements and the businesses would not want to relate with such a station, with the fear of negative publicity. Hence concrete evidence and reasons for which the advertising ventures were cancelled is important to evaluate the suggestion made in the argument.

Further on the contrary, the newly adopted idea of broadcasting national news during the late-night program might also have had positive effects on viewership numbers. There is no evidence provided that whether this new form of news is widely accepted or did the consumers prefer the old regime of weather and local news. Keys statistics like demographics of users watching the programs, viewership numbers, increase or decrease in social-media interactions during the time of air of the program would be helpful evidence and give a much broader picture in taking the decision of rolling back to the prior time devotion to weather and local news.

In conclusion, due to the above discussed reasons there is a clear lack of evidence in the argument made by the business manager of the television station. As portrayed, further evidence is needed to evaluate the suggestion and as of now with such open assumptions; the given argument does not hold merit.