A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future

Author, who wrote the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia mentions that average number of headaches have decreased steadily from last 20 years and concludes that by increasing the intake of salicylates in food, this trend can continue. However, author needs to answert some questions to strengthen the arguement.

First of all, it is believed that as Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin(Drug used to treat headaches), it will have the same effect but author did not provided any evidence where it mentions that both of them have same components, effects and side-effects. Also, there is no mention of how both the elements react when it combines with different components.

Secondly, author mentions that food processing companies are adding salicylates to foods which are naturally rich in salicylates as preservative but did not provide any substantial evidence which proves that it helped in decreasing the headache. Even, if salicylates is helping in reducing the headaches, it might be the case that salicylates which is already present in food helped to alleviate the headaches and not the one which was used as preservative.

Thirdly, author did not provide any details about medical conditions of the participants and root cause of their headaches. The claim that salicylates reduced the pain might not be correct as there could be multiple things involved in reducing the headaches such as better sleep and less problems in career or work.

Finally, There are many flaws in author's assumption which needs to backed by some concrete analysis or data. Author needs to provide lab test which can prove that with use salicylates as flavour additives in food can reduce the headache. As of now, it is just a theory which could also backfire if it has some side effects associated with it.