Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

The issue above suggests that the governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequence are opaque. It is reasonable that the gorvernment should patron such research that the results are probable for using their budget efficiently. However, most of the scientific research cannot estimate their result. Moreover, the funds from the government are necessary for many of the research. Therefore, I do not agree with the statement above.

Admittedly, governments are obliged to use their public budget efficiently because its source are from citizens of the country. As a result, government should make specific criteria so that they can prevent unnecessary use of their money. Since, one of the most important criteria is the result of the research, the government should give weight on assessing the fund for the experiment. Without proper explanation on the research, government cannot withstand the possible danger the research may have. Thus, since the government has limmited budget, it might be efficient to use their resource on more probable research.

However, the statement above does not consider one of the most fundamental part of science. Most of the scientific research is based on understanding and experimenting unpredictable result. For example, in the experiment of making a covid-19 vaccine, most of the research are held based on unknown result. Many companies tried to develop this vaccine but only few had made result. Furthermore, in the case of semiconductor development, much of the research were based on unidentified result. You can understand this situation by how Samsung developed D-ram integrated chip.

As a matter of fact, it is almost impossible for individual research to get fundings other than the government without ensuring the possible result. In the case of space experiment, it was impossible for individual company to get sponcered other than the government, until the advent of space-X. Many of its basis technology does not assure the possible outcome of the research. Moreover, the cost on these experiments are extremely taxing since it require numerous expensive tools that normal laboratory cannot afford. Thus the company space-X was also able to emerge because there were fundings by NASA. Therefore, to maintain the technology, government should stand forward sponsoring these experiements.

In conclusion, it might be necessary for governments to make preferrable actions to use their limmited budget efficiently. However, much of the scientific research has unpresented result and it is simply impossible to predict an outcome. Thus, some scientific research can not get sufficientfund other than the government. Therefore, the government should sponsor scientific research even though the result cannot be conjectured.