Those who treat politics and morality as though they were separate realms fail to understand either the one or the other
In this modern era, people believe that politicians do not stand
on principles, are not moral. However, this was not case in past before couple
of decades, locals used to have faith and where loyal to their leaders. Public
representatives believe that to continue in politics they have to comprise with
their principles. Nonetheless, they forget that people have voted him by
getting impressed by his principles. Sometimes politicians get blind, obsessed
with the power and money that comes along with it. They forget the main reason
behind getting in to politics to help poor people. I agree according to the
author that politics and morality are not separate realms, to fully understand
politics we need to juxtapose both of them.
First and foremost, People have power to elect their
representatives, in this process voters try find a person who will adhere to
his principles and will not comprise with his morals even at the most adverse
conditions and will not be affected by the power and money that comes along
with. For instance, the chief minister of Goa Mr. Goel, was elected as chief
minister for five continuous tenures. Although he was in power for long period,
his net worth was low, he did not have any luxurious car. When asked about it
by fellow reporters why people elected him for two decades. His answer was he
never had interest in luxurious things and was elected by people to serve their
needs not his.
Secondly, most of the people believe that in this present world
most the people in power are corrupt and are rife with scams. It is obvious for
them to think since it has become banal that politicians do scams and are least
bothered about the people who elected him. For example, B. J. P had won
elections in 2014, after long period about nearly two decades, people dethroned
congress since they were fed up with their fallacies. Hence, opted for B. J. P,
however in their first two years news was out that B. J. P was involved in scam
about nearly one billion dollars.
Lastly, people need to understand that both realm’s morality and
politics are interconnected. Hence choose their leader wisely. A person who is
free from scams and he should be known for his shrewdness. However, in this
current situation it must be very difficult to find that type of a person. To
illustrate, in the recent elections Ram was a well-known leader and affluent
person, he was winning elections from last two tenures. However, people have
chosen Roy who is free from scams and adept at taking decisions.
To sum up, People should start realizing that both politics and
morality are interrelated. Hence, start electing leaders who are free from
corruption and are judicious. They should adhere to their principles in most
adverse conditions, they should not get blind by power and money that come
along with it.