Give longer time in prison

It is true that many people believe in the idea of giving longer periods of time in prison for criminals in order to decrease the percentage of crime. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement.

There are many convincing reasons to explain more about the positive impacts of applying the longer time in prison for criminals. One of them is to create a golden opportunity where criminals have enough time to consider about what terrible consequences they cause to the community and what they have to do to improve themself. This is likely to make them feel remorseful and deter them from committing crimes again in the future which can contribute to the decline of crime proportion. Another reason for this suggestion is that the longer terms in prison can frighten other people who have intention to break the law. This would help to enhance the power of the law system towards all of citizens and prevent them from transforming their bad thought into criminal actions.

However, in order to reduce the rate of crime effectively, the government should combine other solutions at the same time to reach the expected result instead of only imprisoning criminals longer. Firstly, crimes usually originate from cognitive thinking of the residents. Therefore, upgrading education by supplying many non-profit projects, talk shows and practical projects for schools and academic institutions is the great way to improve the overall perception in community. This would contribute significantly to the decrease in crime rate. Secondly, the local authority should boost the frequency of meetings in order to deliver more detailed information about the present law which is applied for giving the disciplinary actions for criminals. This could make people understand comprehensively about the national law system, raise their awareness which can lead to reduction of crimes.

In conclusion, while giving the longer time for prisoners is the good solution to improve the status of crime in our society, we should apply more effective methods in order to decrease the rate of crime truly.