It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Compared to eastern and western countries, there are many differences when it comes to education and teaching styles. Therefore, how to properly teach the young generation is continuously becoming an issue. In this essay, after discussing whether punishment is essential or not, I intend to give my point of view. I think the reasonable punishment is warranted.

The focal and primary reason why I agree with it is that it effectively and directly works. If children do something wrong, parents give them punishment. It resembles the method of deterring criminals; however, when the punished character is our beloved children, the punishment relatively becomes more gentle and acceptable. For instance, when I was in elementary school, I was not easy to teach and always being naughty. My mom punished me in different ways, such as demand me to do housework, restrict my pocket money. After doing many unpleasant works I dislike, it considerably deterred me and made me desire to be a good student. Hence, a few punishments could help children learn the distinction.

Some western educationists may claim that there are usually other methods can be implemented when teaching. This may happen to some extent, but most parents are busy at work, instead of peacefully explaining the reasons, offering some punishments could be the better and time-saving educational style.

I think punishing children with what they dislike in daily lives makes them truly interpret what they did wrong. For instance, my cousin likes to play basketball on the weekend; therefore, his parents will prohibit him when he behaves inappropriately. Every time it works. Children will try to introspect and gradually improve on distinguishing right and wrong things.