Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Generally, the wastage of several items on a daily basis is a common trait of most human beings. Be it clothes, personal items or hardware, a lot of the surplus and unnecessary portions of such objects are easily thrown away; and food tops this list. The wastage of food can be boiled down to two primary reasons: trying new cuisines and buying more than it is required. Consequently, when a plate of food does not satisfy a person or suffices too much, the food is wasted. Since this trend has increased drastically in the last few years, several measures have also been taken up by both the government and NGOs. In this essay, I will discuss about both the ends of the spectrum.

As mentioned previously, people tend to waste food specifically when they are trying to improve their palates. A person consuming a certain cuisine for the first time always miscalculates the required portion, often leading to an unintentional purchase of extra food. When he or she is appalled by the taste, the food is completely discarded. Similarly, purchase of extra food is common even with known, everyday cuisines. People often buy more portions of food than he or she requires; this results in wastage when consumption is not possible.

Another trend is the ignorance of expiry dates for stored foods and dairy products. People frequently forget to examine the expiry dates of such food items during their purchase. A few days later when they think of consuming the product, they realise that it has expired, despite being refrigerated. Such a habit is quite common for yoghurts, cheese and milk.

Most major societal issues come with a solution and food wastage is not an exception. Before launching drives and organisations for the collection of excess food, awareness needs to be spread like a wildfire. Most people are unaware of donation centres where food can be donated without any hassle. People also require education and the role they can play in eliminating problems like world hunger and poverty, especially in countries like India where starvation is common.

People must also take measures to purchase smaller amounts of food and avoid unnecessary splurges. Buy only what is absolutely required and do a taste test before ordering the entire meal. Every grain of food holds the significance of saving lives. The idea is to be cautious and considerate of every faction of the society.