Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative

development?

The technological advancement, such as smartphones, and the internet currently play a crucial role in the way that the majority of teenagers schedule their daily life. In this essay, I will explore closely the reasons behind this circumstance and evaluate whether it is potentially threatening development in terms of the ability of time-management of children.

To commence, the introduction of smartphones has been paving a way for a novel interactive method, bringing people closer than ever before. Furthermore, given the strong support of the internet and various social media platforms, by their convenient smartphone, today’s children have access to various types of information, categorizing from educational areas to the entertainment industry, which obtains more captivating visuals and attracting animations compared to older generation’s paper-based methods. As a result, 24-hour per day may seem to be not enough for children to discover the allure of what is happening on their smartphones which is driven by their inquisitiveness.

Along with their undeniable advantages, over-using technologies and smartphones also should be put on the table due to the disadvantages it carries. It drags not only physical health, such as optical problems, but it also brings mental issues, such as unconsciousness and time-wasting unless that child does not acquire the ability of time-management or without their parent’s supervision. Furthermore, smartphones eliminate children’s ability of imagination and critical thinking, which play a significant role during their upbringing process, due to the ready availability of various information spreading before their eyes without any effort.

In conclusion, while smartphones and other technological devices can positively support children in the way that they grow up, it can be more helpful if those teenagers are under the control of their parents, which can minimize the potential drawbacks driven by over-using smartphone circumstances.