In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the increasingly competitive market, businesses have to constantly employ new methods to attract customers. Therefore, through the advertising channel, they often emphasize their products to be the lastest, or the advanced ones. This move might be due to many reasons, but it is positive nevertheless.

The reasons include the boost of sales and the reinforcement of the company’s image. In order to attract customers’ attention, it might be wise to know their simple psychology of always being curious to know or to possess new items. As a result, if the products receive a new appearance, it might help improve sales greatly. Additionally, if a firm could produce novel products, it could reflect an active research and development aspect, thus/consequently gaining trust in the reputation/quality and the image of a company.

The approach might be advantageous or not, depending on the subject in question. To the environment, this move tends to improve sales and production, thus leading to more waste and harming the wildlife and plants. However, to the businesses, this seems to be one of the most beneficial developments, as it helps grow the company and brings more financial gain.

On the consumer’s side, if the items are not truly new, this could lead to bad purchase decision and harm their monetary prospect. In the opposite situation, the appearance of new items on the market repeatedly may entich customers to make impulsive purchases, which is also detrimental to their bank account balance.