Nowadays people are working too hard. What is the reason for that? What should employers do in order to prevent employees from this?

According to the recent survey published in Time magazine, nowadays employees are putting more and more effort into their workplace as compared to the previous decade. There are enormous reasons of this phenomenon. This essay will discuss the evident and inevitable reasons of this raising concern and also will elaborate on the potential solutions with the help of employers.

To begin with, predominantly, the sense of competition is the core reason for a stressful work routine. In this fast-paced environment, people are in the blind race to win over the other. Furthermore, another reason for hard work is to earn more and more in order to afford a luxury lifestyle. I have personally witnessed many people doing double shifts to earn some extra bucks for their families and totally neglecting their physical fitness.

In order to reduce the pressure on the employees, employers can certainly play a vital role. There are numerous steps that an organization can take to lessen employees burden. Introduce and implement work-life balance approach; enforce 9 to 5 office timings to avoid late sittings. Work distribution should be even among all employees with a maximum of 80% bandwidth utilization. 20% capacity should be kept as a breathing buffer and to promote creativity. Lastly, but most importantly all employees should be paid at parity and according to their valuable contributions so that no employee considers doing over-time.

To summarize the aforementioned, hard work is a rising concern not only in developing but also in developed countries. Organizations should control this issue at an early stage with proactive measures such as work-li balance concept and parity compensations.