Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays social media plays a pivotal role in connecting people globally even though sharing personal information on the website does have some risks. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate the merits and demerits of using social media and put forward my opinion.

First and foremost there are a plethora of advantages associated with social media the most preponderant one being easy of connectivity between people living in different continents. With social media applications like Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp gaining popularity among people of all ages and giving flexibility to users to share and view content. In a recent survey in India by economic times around ninety-five per cent from all age groups prefer using social media websites as the most convenient mode to stay connected.

Secondly with the proliferation of internet applications and the abundance of interesting material available on these applications which attracts users globally serving as a knowledge source. To elucidate in a recent survey from Facebook, people prefer to watch videos posted to acquire knowledge and get acquainted with the latest updates globally.

With so many advantages of social media, there are myriads of disadvantages the preponderant one being the security aspect. As people enter personal information while creating accounts on Facebook and Instagram there is a constant threat of this information being stolen or hacked. In the recent past, many accounts and subsequently personal information from social media giant Facebook were hacked thus making this subject contentious.

On the other hand, Social media websites data is being used by various information technology teams at the time of elections to influence the public and get their vote. In India, this has happened many times thus questioning the intent of these websites as they abuse the personal information of users.

Thus looking at both the sides and elucidating it becomes evident that merits outweigh the demerits. Though social media has some security issues it plays a critical role of an enabler for people to stay connected globally.