An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The concerns relating to the health of the person needs immediate attention. Vitamin deficiencies may cause a long and short term impact on the health as well as the well being of the nation. The government of Tagus should take an immediate decision on the proposed new breed of vitamin A as administered by international development organization. Before considering, the officials should visualize the pros and cones associated with the topic.

The government should consider the quality testing before the initiation of the project. The crop modelling should be done to ensure the quality. The growth, vigour and tentative percentage of the vitamin A present in the new varieties should also be evaluated. Similarly, the suitability of the new varieties in new location is also a matter of deep and immediate concern. It may be the long term process, so immediate actions should also be enforced. This action may be in the form of tablets or some medicines. The multiple approach should be carried out to solve the problems.

The other thing is that, the government should partially allow to cultivate the new varieties. This is because the insect pest may infect the new varieties resulting in epidemic food disaster which may be worst than the present condition. The combinations of the various varieties have low diseases and pest infestations. Multiple crop approach may be a preventable solution to the attack of the disease. Similarly, the new varieties should also be quarantined to evaluate the allelopathic effect on the nearby crops.

Therefore, these recommendations should be evaluated and further decisions should be carried out to solve the immediate problem. They should utilize the probable solutions of the problem without risking the life of country fellows. If all the suggestions are considered prior to decisions then it may result in the well being of the people as well as the country.